User description

UEFA Championship originated in 1971. Competitions won big interest of fans. In terms of prestige specified cup is inferior to the Champions League. However spectators enough. Meetings tournaments constantly reviewed bookmakers. If desired fans able to bet on games of UEFA Cup with betting company.

Championship Emerges

In 1955 organized the Fairs Tournament. Matches held for nearly 20 years. Thoughts about the championship attribute to three people:
• Stanley Rose;
• Ottorino Barrasi;
• Ernst Thommen.
Base included single principle. Play in the championship could only athletes from one club per city. Thus a couple of teams from the German capital to fight for the title of the best could.
First Tournament took place 36 months. Matches on during fairs. Leadership as a result deserved by the team of Barcelona.
Next stage led by a similar principle. Participate could compositions from cities where there were fairs. However there were differences without differences. Organizers allowed to play professionals. Cup started to be held every year. Increased number teams.
Championship won great importance. According to the results UEFA began to hold games under its own auspices.

At the start of the project

In 1971 the main prize was the London club. Championship changed name. Relations to fairs was no more. For the first time championship taken by players from European north:
• Belgium;
• the Netherlands;
• Sweden;
• Germany;
• Great Britain.
Later situation changed. The UEFA Championship became a battlefield for southern teams. Two years in a row win hold Real Madrid. Since the end of 1980s 8 times first place went to Italians.


The main award is the silver bowl. Weight of the trophy 15 kg. Made bowl in Spain. Designers didn't put handles. Such a decision increased the attractiveness of the trophy.
Prize transferred. Formerly award could be given forever upon fulfillment of any of the conditions. Norms was 3:
1. Roster won three draws in a row.
2. Football players won the trophy 5 times per cycle.
3. Each cycle starts after of the last transfer of the trophy for perpetual storage.
Before the rule change specifiedconditions were to fulfill only players of the Spanish club Sevilla.
At the 2010, the association requirements replaced. From that time conditions changed. Now champion receives replica of cup. Main prize located by UEFA.

Conducting the tournament

Each European country have the right to field a regulated number of clubs. As a rule for the UEFA Cup get squads, took places after the after elimination of the main European Cup tournament.
A Project of BDITNext