User description

UEFA Championship appeared in 1971. Competitions won big demand among fans. In terms of significance this tournament is inferior to the Champions League. But spectators enough. Matches tournaments often reviewed bookmakers. If desired customers able to bet on matches of UEFA Cup with betting company.

Championship Emerges

In 1955 organized the Fairs Cup. Games held for nearly 20 years. Ideas about the championship attribute to three people:
• Stanley Rose;
• Ottorino Barrasi;
• Ernst Thommen.
Base included one rule. Participate in the championship could only athletes from one roster per city. Thus two teams from the German capital to fight for the title of the best could.
First Tournament took place 3 years. Matches lasted during fairs. Leadership as a result deserved by the team of Barcelona.
Second tournament carried out according to a similar rule. Participate could compositions from cities where there were fairs. However there were differences without differences. Organizers allowed to play professionals. Cup started to be held annually. Increased number teams.
Championship reached high importance. As a result The Union of European Football Associations turned its attention to the tournament.

First years

In 1971 the winner was the London club. Tournament changed name. Relations to fairs was no more. For the first time championship taken by footballers from northern Europe:
• Belgium;
• the Netherlands;
• Sweden;
• Germany;
• Great Britain.
Later situation changed. The UEFA Championship became a a place of confrontation for players from southern Europe. Twice win hold Real Madrid. Since the end of 1980s 8 times leadership went to Italians.


The main award was the silver bowl. Weight of the trophy 15 kg. Made product in Spain. Designers didn't put handles. Such a decision increased the appearance of the trophy.
Award passes to the winner. In previous years award could be given forever upon observance of any of the requirements. Norms existed 3:
1. Roster won three times in a row.
2. Football players won the trophy 5 times within one cycle.
3. Each cycle starts from the moment of the last transfer of the trophy for permanent placement.
Before the rule change theserequirements managed to fulfill only players of the Spanish club Sevilla.
At the 2010, the organization requirements replaced. From that time conditions changed. Now winner takes copy of chalice. Main trophy stored by UEFA.
A Project of BDITNext